Audit Panel

Council established an Audit Panel on 25 March 2013 in order to conduct frequent reviews of Council’s policies, processes and systems and ensure good governance and financial management.


The Panel supports and assists Council and Management in providing a transparent and independent process in its financial and risk management practices. The Panel ensures accountability to the community in the governance, management and allocation of resources. It also ensures that there is an adequate and effective system of internal controls throughout Council.

Panel members

The Panel consists of five members, including three independent members and two councillors, appointed by the Council for a maximum term of four years.

One of the independent Committee members is also appointed by Council as the Chairperson.

The members are:
Paul McTaggart (Chairperson)
Colette Millar
Paul Viney
Deputy Mayor, Cr Clare Glade-Wright
Cr David Bain

The Audit Panel is governed by a charter.
View the Audit Panel Charter (PDF)