Kingborough Council has established advisory committees to provide advice and assistance to Council. Each committee records their meetings and minutes are presented at the following council meeting.

Disability Inclusion & Access Advisory Committee

Chairperson – Cr Paula Wriedt

The Committee provides advice and assistance to Kingborough Council on access issues, in particular, in the implementation of the Disability Discrimination Act 1992 and regular evaluation of Council’s Access Action Plan.


  • Being a point of consultation on issues regarding Council activities and projects and how they impact on the access needs of the community.
  • Identify priorities each year, within the allocated budget to improve access for all in parks, streetscapes, and Council buildings and facilities.
  • Raise access concerns related to Council’s roles and functions on behalf of Kingborough Council.
    Identifying and advising Council and others of access issues in Kingborough.
  • Promote the rights of people with a disability to be treated in a manner that enhances dignity, independence and equality of service to Council.
  • Assist in the provision of Disability Awareness Training to Council officers, Committee members and other identified groups where appropriate.
  • Assist in the development of policies and procedures relating to access.
  • Facilitate and oversee regular evaluation of the implementation of Council’s Action Plan.

The Committee meets every two months.


Committee Documents

Kingborough Bicycle Advisory Committee

Chaired by Cr Amanda Midgley

The Committee aims to provide advice and assistance to Council on bicycle issues to provide better facilities and improved safety for cyclists and to encourage and promote the use of bicycles in Kingborough for transport and recreation.

Meetings are usually held on a Friday morning on a bi-monthly basis.

Kingborough Community Consultative Forum

Kingborough Community Safety Committee

Chaired by Deputy Mayor Jo Westwood

The Kingborough Community Safety Committee aims to encourage and promote community safety through public education, advice and assistance to Council on community safety matters relevant to the Kingborough municipality.

Meetings are usually held on a bi-monthly basis on the first Monday of the month at 10.30am.

The Committee is chaired by Deputy Mayor, Cr Jo Westwood and the following members were appointed by the Council: Brian Dale, Tanya Flakemore, Michael Hughes, Roger McGinniss, Rodney Street and Ross Thomas.

The Committee’s Terms of Reference is available to view and download here